Department | Anaesthesiology


Psychiatry is the branch of medicine devoted to the diagnosis, prevention, study, and treatment of mental disorders. These include various abnormalities related to mood, behaviour, cognition, and perceptions. This subject is included in the course of MBBS as a part of the subject Medicine. The purpose of this subject is to enable a student to understand the concept of psychiatric disorders and their classification and to apply this knowledge to diagnose and treat common psychiatric disorders like schizophrenia, acute manic episode, depression, anxiety disorders including phobias and OCD, conversion and dissociative disorders.


Department of psychiatry is providing following facilities-
  OPD services.
  Indoor services.
  Facility of ECT & EEG.
  Psychotherapy, counselling to the patients.
  Deaddiction centre.
  Child Psychiatry clinic.
  Sex clinic.
  Geriatric clinic.